Have you ever mistakenly sent a ‘sensitive’ message to a wrong person or a group on your WhatsApp chat? Well, that embarrassing moment is now over!
The cross-platform instant messaging service provider has now introduced a new feature that will allow users to delete ‘embarrassing’ messages they accidentally send to individuals or group chats on WhatsApp.
The new feature, being rolled out by the Facebook-owned app, would allow the over one billion subscribers to within seven minutes, delete messages sent to people on their chats. “This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake,” WhatsApp said on its website.
Dubbed “Deleting messages for everyone” the new feature currently being enjoyed by some WhatsApp users “allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat”.
“Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone,” it said.
It said, however, “Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone. Again, WhatsApp says users with old version of the app cannot enjoy the new feature, noting, “In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone”.
The new feature, however, appears to have a slight limitation as WhatsApp has said, recipients of the accidental messages “may see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion was not successful”. It added that users would not be notified if deleting accidental message “was not successful”.