Monday , October 15 2018 4:38 pm
Home / Sports / Partey, Yiadom battle for SWAG top prize

Partey, Yiadom battle for SWAG top prize

After a remarkable season marked with an impressive form for Black Stars, Atletico Madrid star, Thomas Partey, and red Star Belgrade forward Richmond Boakye go into battle for the 2017 Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) footballer of the Year award.

Partey was one of Ghana’s priceless assets during the Stars’ botched World Cup campaign and appears qualified for the prestigious award but he must first fend off competition from another enterprising star, Boakye.

The Red Star attacker has also been one of the brightest spots among Ghanaian players abroad following his superb form this season, leading to his 15 goals for the Serbian side in 14 appearances and ended the year as the club’s best player.

Also contending strongly for the flagship honour are Daniel Nii Adjei,who helped DR Congo side, T.P.Mazembe grab the CAF Confederation Cup and Christian Atsu, who was instrumental in Newcastle United’s qualification to the English Premiership last year.

Accra Hearts of Oak’s Thomas Abbey will compete with Kumasi Asante Kotoko’s skipper, Amos Frimpong, for the Local Footballer of the Year category, with Stephen Sarfo also nominated for the award.

Ampem Darkoa Ladies’ duo of Priscilla Adubea and Priscilla Okyere will battle against Ruth Appiah of LadyStrikers for the Female Footballer of the Year prize, while Duke Micah and Issac Dogboe compete for the Professional Boxer of the Year prize.

The National Team of the Year award will be competed for by the Black Stars B, Black Sticks (Female Hockey Team) and Golden Arms (Armwrestling), while Coach of the Year will be a fight among Carl Lokko (Coach of Richard Commey), Yussif Abubakar (Aduana Stars) and Carl Pierce (Weightlifting).

David Abagna (Wa All Stars) and Richmond Osafo (Weightlifting) will compete for the Most Promising Star of the Year award; Female Club of the Year will go to Ampem Darkoah Ladies, while the Male Club of the Year battle will be between Aduana Stars and the GRA male hockey team.

Vincent Torgah, who was a star on the golf course last year, has been pencilled down for the Golfer of the Year award; Badminton Player of the Year is between Emmanuel Yaw Donkor and Grace Atipaka, while Richard Amanor picks up the Volleyball Player of the Year honours.

Check Also

Don’t blame Lionel Messi – Luka Modric after Croatia’s 3-0 win

Luka Modric had a night to remember against Argentina as he led Croatia to a …

Uruguay Shocked Egypt at 89th Minute

In what appeared to be a crucial encounter between African giants Egypt,  and  Uruguay in …

Medeama goalkeeper Eric Ofori Antwi excited by his heroic performance in the draw against Hearts

Medeama SC shot-stopper Eric Ofori Antwi says he is elated with his splendid performance in …

Leave Your Comment

%d bloggers like this: