Tuesday , November 20 2018 7:38 am





1st March, 2017


The Lawra Constituency Executive Committee of the NDC held a meeting on the 14th December 2016 at Eremon D/A J.H.S. to review the performance of the party in the 2016 Presidential and Parliamentary elections. At the end of the deliberations, the following decisions were taken at the meeting:

The Constituency Secretary Mr. Philip Bagyo has been removed from  office  and  suspended from the party for refusing to participate in campaigning for the party in the 2016 elections but rather chose to  campaign for the independent candidate Samson Abu which led to the defeat of the party’s parliamentary candidate Bede A. Ziedeng in the parliamentary election. His conduct is anti-party and in breach of articles 45 and 46 of the NDC constitution. In place of Mr Philip Bagyo,  Mr Ignatious Ziem Meyir who is  the Deputy Constituency Secretary has been elevated to the position of substantive constituency secretary of the Lawra constituency in accordance with article 49 of the NDC constitution.

The Deputy Constituency Youth Organiser; Mr. Sampson Botee has also been removed from  office and suspended from the party for campaigning on the platform of the independent candidate and also acting as his polling agent at the Kalsagri polling station on election day. His conduct is also anti-party and in complete breach of articles 45 and 46 of the NDC constitution.

The party re-iterates that on the 1st November 2016, the General Secretary of the NDC   Mr, Johnson Asiedu Nketia dismissed from the party Hon. Samson Abu, Hajia Bintu Alhassan (the then Constituency Women Organiser), Mr. Peter Asibi Kayir( the then Constituency Communication Officer) in a press statement also for breaching articles 45 and 46 of the NDC constitution and we hereby confirm those sanctions.

The following decisions were also taken at the meeting:-

Madam Mary Zimaal has been appointed as the Constituency Women Organizer to     replace Hajia Bintu Alhassan whilst Madam Seraphina Banongwie has also been appointed Deputy Constituency Women Organiser to replace the late Agnes Sorinye

Mr Yussif Zakaria has been appointed Deputy Constituency Youth Organizer in place of Mr.   Sampson Botee

Mr Michael Tangkur has been elevated from Deputy Communications Officer to Constituency Communications Officer whilst Mr Muazu Adams has been appointed Deputy Constituency Communications Officer

Mr Frederick Yirlabuor, Alhaji Baba Wawaa, Aloysious Daanoma, Clovis Saame, Nicholas Nangzie, and Faatol Dominic,have all been appointed as members of the Executive Committee of the party in accordance with article 49 of the NDC constitution.

We wish to use this opportunity to thank all NDC party members in the constituency for their support during the 2016 elections and to urge them to continue to have faith in the party. We appeal to all party members to continue to remain calm whilst we take steps to put things right so that the party can move forward. The NDC still remains the dominant political force in the constituency and will continue to remain so into the future. What happened in the parliamentary election is simply considered a temporary setback. We shall be back.

          JOSHUA LOTAA





Check Also

Fifa bans Kwesi Nyantakyi for life over Anas exposé

World Football governing body, FIFA, has banned former President of the Ghana Football Association, Kwesi …

NDC Women’s and Youth Delegates Conference : The Woes of an Obsessed Journalist

Very shocking revelation as dozens of press men and women who voluntarily granted coverage upon …

Ofosu Ampofo congratulates first batch of newly elected national executives and losers

Hon. Samuel Ofosu – Amppfo, an aspiring National Chairman of the NDC, has gleefully congratulated …

Leave Your Comment

%d bloggers like this: